NEIF reviewer group

The Reviewer Group comprises independent researchers with expertise covering a broad extent of NERC science remit who review applications and are directly involved in the project approval process. The reviewers are appointed by NERC to sit on one of three panels based on their specialisms.

Panel A – Radiocarbon

  • Prof Sarah Metcalfe (Chair; University of Nottingham)

Archaeology committee members:

  • Dr Laura Basell (University of Leicester)
  • Mr Thomas Booker (AHRC)
  • Dr Selina Brace (Natural History Museum)
  • Dr Linda Fibiger (University of Edinburgh)
  • Prof Stephen Rippon (University of Exeter)
  • Prof Fraser Sturt (University of Southampton)

Environment committee members

  • Dr Sarah Davies (University of Aberystwyth)
  • Prof Chris Evans (Centre for Ecology & Hydrology)
  • Prof Daren Gooddy (British Geological Survey)
  • Prof Jerry Lloyd (Durham University)
  • Prof Graeme Swindles (Queen's University Belfast)
  • Prof Nicki Whitehouse (Plymouth University)


  • Dr Philippa Ascough (SUERC)
  • Dr Adele Gardner (British Geological Survey)
  • Ms Natalie Graham (Secretary; SUERC)
  • Dr Emma Henderson (University of Oxford)
  • Prof Tom Higham (University of Oxford)
  • Prof Daren Mark (SUERC)
  • Prof Christopher B. Ramsey (University of Oxford)

Panel B – Life sciences

  • Dr Rachel Jeffreys (Chair; University of Liverpool)
  • Prof Davey Jones (Bangor University)
  • Dr Sabine Lengger (University of Plymouth)
  • Dr Daniel Mayor (National Oceanography Centre)
  • Dr Lorna Streeet (University of Edinburgh)
  • Dr Stephen Votier (University of Exeter)


  • Dr Ian Bull (University of Bristol)
  • Dr Adele Gardner (British Geological Survey)
  • Dr Rona McGill (Secretary; SUERC)
  • Dr Jason Newton (SUERC)
  • Dr Glória dos Santos Pereira (UKCEH)
  • Dr Darren Sleep (UKCEH)

Panel C – Geology & environment

  • Dr Andrew Henderson (Chair; University of Newcastle)
  • Dr Pallavi Anand (Open University)
  • Dr Martin Blackwell (Rothamsted Research)
  • Dr David Chew (University of Dublin)
  • Dr Bethan Davies (Royal Holloway, University of London)
  • Dr Hannah Hughes (University of Exeter)
  • Prof Janet Montgomery (Durham University)
  • Dr Rachel Smedley (University of Liverpool)
  • Dr Peter Vermeesch (University College London)
  • Dr Peter Wynn (Lancaster University)


  • Dr Dan Barfod (SUERC)
  • Prof Adrian Boyce (SUERC)
  • Dr Dan Condon (British Geological Survey)
  • Dr Derek Fabel (SUERC)
  • Dr Adele Gardner (British Geological Survey)
  • Prof Melanie Leng (British Geological Survey)
  • Dr Diana Sahy (Secretary; British Geological Survey)